Itunes thinks my phone is new

*

Ready to switch to the brave brand-new world ofiPhone? Or maybe you"re already converted, however about to upgrade to a newer, better version - like one of the iPhone 12 family members.

You watching: Itunes thinks my phone is new


*

If you"re making use of a Mac, you"ll follow equivalent steps. Apple has however disongoing iTunes on Mac, so instead, you"ll do so by means of Finder.

Open Finder and also affix your old iPhone to your jiyuushikan.orgputer.If a message asks for your gadget passcode or toTrust This jiyuushikan.orgputer, follow the ondisplay screen measures.Select your iPhone when it appears in Finder. It need to appear underLocationsin the sidebar.If you desire to save Health and also Activity information, you"ll have to encrypt your backup. You can carry out this by ticking theEncrypt iPhone backupbox. Make certain your you pick a password you can remember, bereason there"s no method to accessibility your backup without it. If you do not want to save your Heath and also Activity data, you do not must tick this box.Press theBack Up Nowswitch. This procedure can take almost everywhere from a pair of minutes to an hour, depending on exactly how full your iPhone is.When this procedure is finiburned, unplug your old iPhone, and turn on your brand-new iPhone. Follow the ondisplay setup measures till your reach theApps & Datadisplay. SelectResave from Mac or PC.Connect your iPhone to the jiyuushikan.orgputer system you used to back up your old iPhone.A display screen sayingWelconcerned your brand-new iPhonewill certainly appear. Select your the majority of current backup under theregain from this backupdropdvery own, and then pressContinue.If restoring from an encrypted backup, enter your password once asked.Wait for the reclaim process to finish. Once again, this will take anywhere from a couple of minutes to as long as an hour.

If you don"t have a jiyuushikan.orgputer system, you can back up your phone to iCloud.

OpentheSettingsapplication on your old iPhoneTap your nameTap iCloudTap iCloud Backup and toggle it onTap Back Up Now. You"ll need to be associated to WiFi to backup. This same display screen will display you the development and also will certainly confirm once the backup is jiyuushikan.orgpleteWhen establishing up your new iPhone, chooseRekeep from iCloud Backupon the Apps & Data screen.

See more: Syncing Iphone With Itunes Creates Duplicate Playlists, Multiples Of Them

Just be mindful that backing up and also restoring from iCloud can take a lot longer than doing so using a jiyuushikan.orgputer, also with a fast internet connection. You might also should pay for iCloud storage. All Apple IDs jiyuushikan.orge with 5GB of totally free storage, yet if your backup is bigger, you"ll should pay if you desire to use iCloud to setup your new iPhone. Storage starts $1.49 per month for 50GB.

iPhone backups don"t include the following information:

Content you"ve bought with AppleMusic or videos synced through ApplePhotos already in the cloudFingerprints or facial recognition informationApple Pay information

They will certainly however deliver your photos and also contacts you had actually saved on your old iPhone to your brand-new iPhone.

You"ll additionally to redownpack your apps, but your new iPhone will have place holders for everything you had actually installed on your old gadget.

When you"ve finished establishing up your brand-new iPhone, you"ll more than likely desire to erase your old device. If you"re planning on marketing it on, you"ll likewise must disable iCloud and also Find My Phone.

Open the Settings application on your old iPhoneTap your nameScroll down to iCloud and tap it.Scroll dvery own until you view Find Myand also pick it.Slide to the Find My Phone toggle to off. You will need to enter the password linked through your Apple ID to switch Find My Phone off.When Find My Phone is off, step ago into the iCloud food selection, scroll dvery own to the extremely bottom, and press Sign Out.

See more: How To Install And Move Android Set Sd Card As Default Storage On Android Phone

If you don"t follow these steps, whoever before offers your old iPhone following will certainly must put in your Apple ID password to activate it. After you"re signed out, you can erase your old iPhone by jiyuushikan.orgplying with these steps:

Open the Settings application on your old iPhone.Tap on General.Scroll dvery own to Reset and tap it.Select Erase All Content and Settings.If asked, enter your passcode.

Get iPhone tips and tricks and so a lot even more in our weekly newsletter!