Itunes duplicating playlists when syncing

Eincredibly time I sync my iPhone via iTunes (on my Mac) I get seemingly multiple duplicates of playlists appearing. Why is this?

I delete them. Then they come earlier following time I sync.

You watching: Itunes duplicating playlists when syncing

This has been happening for a few years, so across multiple MacOS, iTunes and also iOS versions, as well as on an iPhone 6 Plus and currently my 8 Plus.

Has anyone uncovered a solution to this?

To add to this frustration, sometimes a random variety of tracks are deleted form the original playlist, but reprimary in 'Playlist 2' for example.

I'm struggling to trust iTunes via my Music Library - I have so many kind of tracks, yet feel prefer I must store an eye on what is happening to them. I'm certain some have been rerelocated from my library as well...

See more: Windows 10 Touchpad Delay - Touchpad Delay After Typing


More Less

Posted on Oct 4, 2019 2:20 AM


Reply I have actually this question too(229) I have actually this question also Me too(229) Me as well

All replies

Drop Dvery own food selection
Page 1 of 1 Page 1/1

Loading web page content


Page content loaded


User profile for user: turingtest2
turingtest2
User level: Level10
(226,592 points)
jiyuushikan.org MusicSpeciality level out of ten: 10

Oct 8, 2019 8:56 AM in response to stoobloo In response to stoobloo


Once possible mechanism is if the same list is updated in iTunes and the tool in between syncs. Once iTunes has actually started doing this then it can be ideal to remove all copies of the influenced lists from the device, deduplicate, then sync back what you want. See additionally this short article on erratic syncing.

tt2


More Less

Oct 8, 2019 8:56 AM


Reply Helpful
Thread reply - more options
User profile for user: stoobloo
*

stoobloo
User level: Level1
(94 points)
TVSpeciality level out of ten: 1

Oct 9, 2019 2:12 AM in response to turingtest2 In response to turingtest2


So if the playlist is on my iPhone, and I then upday the playlist in iTunes (now Music) as soon as I following sync it's intended behaviour to duplicate it?

I have looked at the short article you kindly gave, but I have actually already performed the actions when relocating from one iPhone to another.

I sync by USB only and carry out not usage iCloud.

See more: Grenlande Netieša Nepieciešamības Sandisk Secure Access V3 Failed To Start


More Less

Oct 9, 2019 2:12 AM


Reply Helpful
Thread reply - even more alternatives
User profile for user: turingtest2
turingtest2
User level: Level10
(226,592 points)
jiyuushikan.org MusicSpeciality level out of ten: 10

Oct 9, 2019 3:45 AM in response to stoobloo In response to stoobloo


Expected no, occasionally observed, yes. In principle you're intended to have the ability to edit playlists both in iTunes and on the tool as you choose and those edits must move in either direction as soon as you sync without creating duplicate lists. In practice this appears to go wrong sometimes for factors that aren't precisely clear. As I shelp a possible cause could be when the 2 copies of a playlist both acquire updated in between sync operations, so it isn't clear which variation need to currently be the definitive one. Let us imagine that each playlist has a unique ID, and a time stamp for when it was last updated. Tbelow is currently a problem, which one wins? The one in the library? The one most newly updated? Ask the user? Or save both versions and let the user select later? My guess is that the last choice was made. I likewise think it can be feasible that at some point iTunes can think tright here is a dispute when tbelow isn't.

You mentioned that the second copy of a playlist might be lacking some of the tracks. Is tright here an optimization feature enabled on the phone that lets it discard media when it is running low on memory? This might possibly change a playlist hosted on the gadget without your energetic intention.